Learning Customer Service from a Fast Food Visit

Ever since I read the book FISH! I have tried to live out that philosophy in work and life to some extent.

The FISH! Philosophy is simply this: (if you haven’t read the book-and you should!)

– Choose Your attitude

– Play!

– Be Present

– Make Their Day

I’ll just get this out in the open up front – I am not the most healthy eater on the planet – and I have a friend who is trying to convince me that my food choices are not the best (but that is a post for another day).

While visiting Taco Bell two days ago, I had an experience that made me smile.

I pulled up to the drive thru and the conversation went like this:

TB Speaker Box: Hello! Welcome to Taco Bell – how are you today?

Me: (suprised to get such a greeting) I am good – how are you?

TB Speaker Box: I am fantabulous – What can I get for you?

Me: (Smiling now) I’ll have (whatever I ordered). Are you always this cheery?

TB Speaker Box: (now with a cheesy DJ tone of voice) Why Yes Iam thanks for noticing – Your total is (whatever it was). I’ll see you at the window!

By this time I was shaking my head and chuckling. I really thought this guy was great!

98.7% of the time, you can’t even tell what the little speaker box is saying, let alone actually engaging in a pleasant short conversation.

I drove to the window and the guy says – as he is handing my order – “Thanks so much for thinking outside the bun!”

I told him he made my day!

This guy was a total Fish Head.

I mean that as a compliment. Really.

He didn’t have to have A GREAT ATTITUDE – but He did. And it showed to his customer…I am positive that I am not the only person who experienced his attitude. I am sure that being the ‘drive thru dude’ isn’t the best paying gig in the world.

But he was Playing! He was sincere with me, and as soon as I engaged with him, outside of my order, he began to play – to have some fun. And that translated over to me.

He was PRESENT. Paying attention to me, engaging me in conversation and making my experience one that would

MAKE MY DAY!

And to top it off, he was the VOICE of the speaker box at that particular Taco Bell. (I thought I should tie it in with Voice Work – SOMEHOW!!)

But really – I forget these simple things in my work. I get wrapped up in the day to day grind, and forget that I have a choice to be doing voice work, to be doing production work, to be writing copy for people. I can choose the attitude I have for the day, and for the particular client I am working with.

I think I have the play thing down pretty well. I think most would agree that Play is one of the things I do best. Next!

Being Present. I tend to think about the next client, the next spot, the next big gig, where it is going to come from, who it’s going to be.

To me, this rings of being grateful and thankful for what I have in front of me, and the work I am able to do now.

The more present I am with a client, or a read, the better I can be, the better I can think of a different flavor of voice, or tone or phrase, that might fit the need even better than the choices I am presently making.

Make their Day!  What does this mean for a voice over person? Being pleasant, someone who does a great job, is professional to work with – sure, but there has to be more…that lagniappe (shouts to my “people” in New Orleans!). Something extra that I offer that makes their day.

What do you offer that makes YOUR clients’ day? Is it just being professional?

___

Other Posts you might enjoy:

How to Get to Wow!
Regaining Passion in Your Life
Who is Stu Gray?
33 Things, 33 Years

4 responses to “Learning Customer Service from a Fast Food Visit

  1. Pingback: A Taco Bell visit with Stu « The Blography of Joe The Voice Guy

  2. Pingback: The Blography of Joe The Voice Guy

  3. Pingback: 33 Things, 33 Years « The Creative Mouthpiece

  4. Pingback: Batman: The Dark Knight

Leave a Reply

