When Do you Work? A book list.

I was talking with my very good friend Brian yesterday about a book I am reading by Tim Sanders called Love is the Killer App. Love it!! I want to be a lovecat! (gotta read it)

He was giving me grief about how much I seem to be reading…and he says:

When do you work?!?!

You know, that is an interesting question.

I see reading as Part of My Work.

Who I am, and who I am becoming, and who can I pass along my knowledge to?

If I can learn something of value to pass on to someone else thru my reading, then in the long run, it will help my “traditional work”.

All that said…Here are the books that are stacked on my dining room table, that I got for Christmas, that will begin my reading for this year:

The Art of Voiceacting (the TOME on Voice Acting that I have read chapters of standing in Barnes and Noble)

Getting Business to Come to You (on being an entrepreneur)

The Creative Habit (saw a great quote from Twyla Tharp from this book that piqued my curiosity)

The Little Gold Book of Yes! Attitude (Jeffrey Gitomer on Good Attitude)

The Little Green Book of Getting Your Way (Gitomer on Speaking, Writing, Presenting, Persuading, Influencing, and Selling Your Point of View )

Ideaspotting (training for new !deas)

A Whack on the Side of the Head (creative thinking)

Six Thinking Hats (about how to think better)

What are you reading? What knowledge are you learning to pass on to others? What value are you creating?

______________

(edited on July 10, 2008 )

As I have gone back over this list, I have only finished ONE of the books here.

The Little Gold Book of Yes! Attitude by Jeffrey Gitomer. It was a great read. And really started me on a different path of reading this year.

I have gotten into The Creative Habit , The Art of Voiceacting, Six Thinking Hats and A Whack on the Side of the Head, but not done with them just yet.

I’ll talk about some of my other reads in another post.

3 responses to “When Do you Work? A book list.

  1. Stu,

    Also recieved “The Art Of Voice Acting” for Christmas but haven’t yet read it. When we do, let’s compare notes.

    Enjoy the blog.
    Joe

  2. Hi Stu,

    That’s quite the collection of books you got this Christmas! You’ll be busy until May leafing through all of them by the look of that list 😉

    I haven’t yet read the James R. Alburger book and am looking forward to hearing about what you think and what Joe thinks as well.

    Cheers,

    Stephanie

  3. Joe –

    Looking forward to it!!!

    And Stephanie – – –

    Can you say “book-a-holic” ? 🙂
    That would be me!

    Would love to hear what you think as well!

    Stu

Leave a Reply

